

December 2019(Special Edition) Web Address: tampa-fl.aauw.net/ Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/tampafla auw/

PO Box 172715 Tampa, FL 33672

The Tiempo

Special Holiday Pictures Edition



Winners of the *Ugly Holiday Sweater* Contest

Scholarship Winners **Temple Terrace Golf** January 18th and Country Club

Febru-**Annual Fundraiser** Tampa Palms Golf ary 15 and Country Club

In This Issue

Ugly Sweater Pary/Meeting Pictures

Page 2-3

Meeting Reports-Time-Sensitive Info

4-5

More pictures... 6-7





The competition was stiff. However, these creative participants pulled it off. From left to right: Third Place: Catherine Martin First Place: Jan and Cindy Hovi Second Place: Reverend Martha Vaguener. Pictured with President: Bert Dunbar

The Tampa Players Ugly Sweater Production Cast



Sigrid Skvorc- Played Donnor Couric, ian investigative reporter, *loose marbles, always seeking a story.*

Mattie Parr - Played Roxy Rich, real estate heiress, drama queen.

Aleseya Pinkney – Played Samantha Sugar Plum, late blooming movie star. Has declared war with the media.

Kirk Guillory - Played Detective Frosty Jack - famous homicide detective, loves karaoke, speaks in clichés.

Naomi Sweeting,- Played Isabella Rudolf, comes from old money, party planner, can't keep a secret.

Cindy Hovi—Played Alexis Harmony - Clueless Director of Snow Falls Girls Choir. *Cannot sing.*

Rev. Martha Vaguener-Played Eva Evergreen, Principal of Snow Falls High School., *rumor* has it that not everyone who goes to the principal's office returns.

John Chaplick - Played Brad Carols - Personal banker, may be diverting funds.

Joyce Ellsworth-Parker Mistletoe-disgruntled personal assistant to Roxy Rich.

Seated Left to Right:

Avis Chaplick-Played Elizabeth Winter, blatantly honest food inspector. The food vendors fear her.

Marge Anke-Played Tendo Claus, self indulgent toy developer, *immature but one of the best toy developers in the country.*



December Meeting Reports

Fundraiser Update - Shella Miller—Director Membership and Yvette Williams, Director of Finance - Co-Chairs

- Eventbrite set to accept reservations.
- Flyers will be mailed flyers to Tampa members, national members that live in Florida, AAUW chapters in the area..
- Paper copies of the Flyer will be made available to members in attendance at January meeting.
 See Shella for a copy at the end of the meeting.
- Committee seeking ideas for local paper/media advertising if anyone has connections or willing to assist.
- Silent Auction- Connie Fountain Manager
- Silent Auction Item Commitments—currently 13
- Creatively Themed Basket Update _ Baskets Commitments currently-11
- Order of the program (Shella & Yvette working to finalize)
- Set:
- Opening Welcome and Purpose -Bert
- Introduction of Speaker-Gloria
- Keynote: Ms. Deborah Coty is the confirmed speaker and the theme is Building a Champion Mind: "Decom-stress" for success!
- MC- Leesa Askew:
- Inspirational Speaker- Rev. Martha Vaguer
- This year will allow time for a few words by Ribbon of Honor Recipient
- Musical Interludes-pianist Betty Chester
- Musical Dance Selection Jaden and Jayce Miller-Song "Mighty River"
- Song Selection-need to confirm Ericka Reynolds
- Design, preparation, and printing of paper program booklet Bert and Naomi Sweeting.
- Book Sales Commitments- Authors- Leesa Askew John Chaplick, and Debora Coty
- Ribbon of Honor Nominee -Must meet criteria and the deadline is Friday, January 3rd. Members
 are encouraged to nominate if you have a person meeting the criteria in mind. One nomination received so far.
- Other Logistics, Deadlines, and Misc. Item_Deposit for location (Tampa Palms): 1st deposit made; 2nd deposit due by 12/17; final payment 02/08

Financial Update-Yvette Williams, Director of Finance

• Total balance in all accounts: \$14,888.11

• Restricted: \$4,855.85, CD 5, 157.55

• Unrestricted: \$4, 874.71

December Reports' Cont'd

Tech/Trek -Submitted by Dr. Gloria Hilton, Director Tech Trek/STEM Activities

- December 1, 2019 was deadline to submit nominations to Florida Tech Trek Committee
- Three (3) schools submitted nominations:
- Randall Middle School 1 student
- Academy Prep Center of Tampa 2 students
- Orange Grove Middle Magnet 1 student
- Total number of students nominated from Tampa AAUW Four (4)
- Florida Tech Trek Committee sent application information to the students.
- January 15, 2020 is deadline for girls to submit their applications to Florida Tech
 Trek Committee
- February 2020 Tampa Tech Trek Committee will interview girls who complete their application
- February 20, 2020 Interviews to be completed and results sent to Florida Tech Trek Committee
- March 2020 Florida Tech Trek Committee will meet and identify girls selected to attend camp. Two camps will serve 48 girls., Stetson University in Deland – June 14-20, 2020, Florida Atlantic University in Jupiter – June 21-27, 2020

Friends of Tampa AAUW



The above were judges for the Ugly Sweater Competition. Each has been supportive of Tampa AAUW for more than three years by lending their time, talent, and, financial support.. Left to right: Wanda Gibson, Retired Tampa VA Nurse Manager, Terri Cavin-Balser-Nurse Manager Tampa VA, Lillian Stringer, Director of Publicity, Tampa Housing Authority, Deborah Gano, Retired Rehab Counselor, VA-Tampa, and Rene Lee, Attorney.

T



There was a great deal of unrest in the Community of Snow Falls. Rumors were spreading a week before the Annual Snow Falls Ugly Sweater Christmas Party. Several community members complained about getting ugly emails or phone calls. The turmoil carried over to the party. Roxy Rich was murdered and Samantha Sugar Plum confessed to the crime. Jan Hovi ,left was the first to guess Roxy Rich would be murdered and Pat Tabone far right was the first to guess Samantha Sugar Plum was the culprit. Bert Dunbar, Center.





Board of Directors

President Dr. Bert Dunbar

Vice President Vacant

Director of Irene Bembry

Programs

Director of Shella Miller

Membership

Director of Yvette Williams

Finance

Director of Public Dree Jenkins

Policy

Director of Jasmine White-Bynum

Scholarships

Director of Tech Dr. Gloria Hilton

Trek/STEM Activi-

ties

Recording Mattie Parr

Secretary

Corresponding Avis Chaplick

Secretary

Facebook and Aleseya Pinkney

Website Manager

Newsletter Editor Marjorie Fontalvo

From the President's Desk

May you have a safe and wonderous holiday season filled with peace and contentment!

Berthenya (Bert) Dunbar, PhD, APRN